Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal Government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a Federal Government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.


The following diagram offers a view of the ICAM practice areas and supporting elements.

A diagram with definitions and icons for identity, credential, and access management and definitions for federation and governance.

Action: Copy the graphics and text to use at your agency to drive ICAM awareness, strategy development, and communications.

ICAM is the set of tools, policies, and systems that an agency uses to enable the right individual to access the right resource, at the right time, for the right reason in support of federal business objectives.

Agencies implement ICAM services and solutions to unify their IT services, strengthen physical access control, and improve information security. Understanding the ICAM building blocks is key to understanding the FICAM architecture.

ICAM consists of three practice areas and two supporting elements. The supporting elements enhance practice area capabilities.

An official website of the U.S. General Services Administration

Looking for U.S. government information and services?
Visit Edit this page